What Lack I Yet?

March 19, 2013 § 2 Comments

I didn’t have my Bible with me today, and wanted to do some Bible study, so I went to the Bible Gateway website. I knew approximately where I was in my reading, so I tried to find it. I’d skimmed over a few verses closest to where I was last and my eyes fell upon a set of verses that I’d read on my last Bible study, but the words had a greater impression on me this time. I wanted to share it here, hoping that “vocalizing” my thoughts I might understand them better. First, here are the verses I mentioned:

16 And, behold, one came and said unto him, Good Master, what good thing shall I do, that I may have eternal life?

17 And he said unto him, Why callest thou me good? there is none good but one, that is, God: but if thou wilt enter into life, keep the commandments.

18 He saith unto him, Which? Jesus said, Thou shalt do no murder, Thou shalt not commit adultery, Thou shalt not steal, Thou shalt not bear false witness,

19 Honour thy father and thy mother: and, Thou shalt love thy neighbour as thyself.

20 The young man saith unto him, All these things have I kept from my youth up: what lack I yet?

21 Jesus said unto him, If thou wilt be perfect, go and sell that thou hast, and give to the poor, and thou shalt have treasure in heaven: and come and follow me.

22 But when the young man heard that saying, he went away sorrowful: for he had great possessions.

There are so many parts to this, but I want to focus on only a couple. First the title of this post “What lack I yet?” This fellow speaking with Jesus thought he was a good person and kept the Mosaic Law; shouldn’t this be enough (works salvation)?

Jesus’ response is very well known and there is very little confusion as to what he meant. Jesus knew this man had a love in his heart for something other than God. This man loved the wealth and riches he had. Jesus told him that he would have to leave it all behind if he wanted to follow God with his whole heart.

The Bible may be vague, ambiguous, and open to interpretation on many topics, but money, wealth, riches…not so much. The Bible makes it clear on many occasions how we are to feel about the accumulation of wealth (1 Tim. 6:10, Luke 18:22, Luke 12:33, etc.).

I feel that this applies to my entire life, and why shouldn’t it? I took a long hard look at my life, and realized that I am living on a hamster wheel. I work all day, and at the end of the day, I am no further ahead than I was when I started. That is pitiful and ridiculous.

In fact, I’d say the way we all operate as a society is setup and engineered in such a way, that we are all shackled to a grid existence. We wake up in our little sub grid (neighborhood) and using electricity, water, and gas that are more grids. We drive along a grid to get to work, where we support and facilitate more sub grids being built, manufactured, developed, and maintained. We get home and watch a television that is connected to an invisible grid. We live our lives in a programmed manner with very little variance in thought, and absolutely no freedom whatsoever to explore our relationship with God.

We have so many obligations because of this rigid grid we’ve voluntarily put ourselves in. Every single one of these obligations demand time and thought that could be spent growing closer to God and one another. Instead we work harder in order to have so many distractions; it’s almost as if we don’t want to have more time to spend with God; or each other for that matter.

One of my last posts was about a symbolic divorce my wife and I are going through. We are divorcing ourselves from the shackles of money. We are raiding our 401K and selling our possessions. We recognize the need to tear these obstacles and distractions from our lives, and live a simpler existence.

The Bible was written in much simpler times. That doesn’t mean that its principles can’t apply today. What do you think Jesus would say about the cars we drive, or the houses we live in? I really think that Jesus was quite serious about his allegory regarding money.

If we could all divorce ourselves from the trinkets, and flashy gadgets that inundate our lives, we could rise up from our bended knee and stop being slaves to the synagogue of Satan. We would have a better understanding of ourselves and our fellow man. We would have more time to explore our relationship with God, and teach the following generations to live a simpler life closer to God.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to What Lack I Yet?

  • Wonderful post. Here’s the thing that we fail to get: Jesus Christ didn’t die for us to have stuff…He died to save us and to give us the Abundant Life (which is only ~I believe~ found in Him). I find myself working more just to make ends meet…special needs son, so I work at home. Yet I have never have had one unmet need. I crave more time w/God, that’s my “sweet spot”. A priority setting is required for me daily. God bless you through your “sell out”. I enjoy your posts. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading What Lack I Yet? at Christian Battlefront.

meta

