I am what I am…

March 25, 2013 § Leave a comment

1 Corinthians 15:10 – But by the grace of God I am what I am: and his grace which [was bestowed] upon me was not in vain; but I laboured more abundantly than they all: yet not I, but the grace of God which was with me.

I was browsing at King James Bible Online looking for scriptures on gratitude, and came across the one above. It really spoke to me, and caused me to stop and really think about its meaning in my life.

Grace in common parlance means a gift, undeserved. A lot hinges on my remembering that every single thing I see, do, or experience is an unmerited gift. Every breath I take into my lungs is a gift from God. It is difficult for me to remember this, or at least keep it in the forefront of my mind. It is easier to forget my place, and what really matters in life. I can get so caught up in the moment, that I forget nearly everything else.

Many times I don’t remember that who I am, and what I am is a gift from God. I lament who I am, and the decisions I’ve made and am never really happy with who I am (most of the time). I am so thankful that I read this scripture today.

The conclusion of the scripture is so powerful. It speaks volumes to me about my place and having gratitude for God’s grace within me and permeating my life. It is such a wonderful feeling to know that God’s grace is with me in all my troubles and successes. I don’t have to feel alone when I lose my place and think I am fighting this in this life by myself.

I hope you too can find God’s grace in your life. I hope you can see that any situation you find yourself in is a gift from God. No matter how distasteful or painful, it is a gift with blessings, though they may not be as apparent as we’d like.

God bless you…

Tagged: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I am what I am… at Christian Battlefront.

meta

